One foot in the grave.

About as bad as it gets.  I’ll try and keep this one short, but it may inevitably turn into one long whine.  3-0 down at home at half-time to your biggest rivals knowing that defeat would mean going to sleep in the relegation zone with three games left.  Throw in the fact that the MTK sector was full of grinning Ferencvaros fans (I generously call them fans as the real Ferencvaros fans would be out in force for their reserve game on Sunday as they continue their boycott in protest against their idiot chairman Kubatov) and it was a pretty bad place to be.

 18426820_10158570231325577_493929665_o

Full moon for the horror show ahead

A 2030 kick-off on a Saturday inevitably meant I could enjoy my tram beer without feeling overly conscious of my tram beer.  I guess when you lose that consciousness is the only time that you know you have a problem (or maybe it is when you lose your home and resort to curling up in a shopping trolley like the tramp lady at the tram stop.  Nepszinhaza utca – the terminus for the tram from Blaha Lujza to UHNS is an interesting place.  A justifiable reputation to being a street to another world or time.  I have never read Dickens, but I imagine a modern-day Dickens set in Hungary would be set in Nepszinhaz utca.

 18426212_10158570231440577_703744798_o

Party tram

The tram took about 15 minutes and enough time to finish my beer and contemplate the future.  MTK had won their last five home games against the team from 1.5km around Hungaria korut although these home games had been played at four different stadiums as MTK turned into a vagrant whilst its home was rebuilt in the style of a carpark in Hampshire.  This was the first so-called Orokrangado (Eternal Derby) or Az Klasszikus at the UHNS and we were back under lights for the first time since the stadium opening gala match back in October.  I stepped off the tram with a misplaced degree of optimism this was despite news of a draw for Diosgyor and a win for Debrecen moving MTK into the basement.  Mezokovesd had been hammered at home so a win would have put us well on our way to safety.  My optimism was immediately clouded by the amount of green shirts loitering around and walking up to and entering MTK sections of the stadium.  Huha.

I did a quick lap of the stadium (because I was a bit early) before ducking in the stadium.  They were everywhere.  Having been locked inside our own stadium for our safety whilst 300 Vasas/Ujpest/Honved fans vacated the area, it seemed ironic that we were now locked inside our own stadium with our biggest rivals.  It also turned out that half of them had been handed out free tickets by MTK.  Cheers.  Sadly (or wonderfully) MTK is such a wet (or nice) club that we are quite happy to have our rivals in colours wander around the inside of our stadium without too much of a complaint.  Orban’s security firm, Valton, who puff out their chests and happily bark out orders at most MTK home games were strangely quiet/impotent.

 fradi

The smell…;)

All this was made ten times more delightful when Ferencvaros took the lead after less than ten minutes.  The usually reliable Poor let Varga run off him and head home from a pretty good cross.  This was a couple of minutes after Kanta had been (arguably) tripped in the box.  Oh how different it could have been if the ref had given that.  As it was MTK went limp.  Ferencvaros scored another from a vicious deflection before putting home the third with the last kick of the first half.

The Ferencvaros fans around us started crowing.  Valton stood on realizing it is much easier to pick on people with glasses than fat, angry Ferencvaros fans.  I blew a few kisses.  Nothing like confusing an angry, homophobic football fan by showing some affection.

The game was done.  MTK came out and puffed a bit getting a goal on 79 minutes through a neat finish from Ramos.  It was too little too late.  Security decided to let us out into the street as the whistle went realizing that if a fight had not happened already in the stadium, then it probably wouldn’t outside.  Plus outside the stadium the police can worry about and Valton probably are not too keen on doing any real work apart from looking serious in their fluorescent jackets.

The bottom looks very interesting.  Noone is safe.  Diosgyor very much have fate in their hands playing all three of the teams at the bottom.  Debrecen have the toughest run in.  Who knows where this one is going?!

MTK – 35 points

Mezokovesd – 35

Diosgyor – 35

Debrecen – 37

Honved (A)

Diosgyor (A)

Mezokovesd (H)

Ferencvaros (A)

Diosgyor (H)

Paks (H)

MTK (A)

Honved (H)

Paks (A)

Vasas (A)

Debrecen (H)

Diosgyor (A)

But we take each game at a time (felt like a cliché).  Next up is a trip out to Kispest to play table topping Honved who have their own sights on the title or at the very least taking it down to a last day play-off at home to Videoton in what may well be the last ever game at the Bozsik Jozsi.  I don’t really want to spoil that party, but I also don’t want to have to contemplate away trips to Balmazujvaros and Kisvarda next February.

Previous – One kick beyond……

Next – So long Kispest…

2 thoughts on “One foot in the grave.

  1. Dear Mr Bacsi:
    I really enjoy your blog. I respect your emotional attachment and support for MTK. I also appreciate your honest commentary on the state of the game (and the government) in Hungary.
    My name is Leslie Gönye (Gönye László when in Hungary). I was born and live in Sydney, Australia. My parents are Hungarians who left in 1956. I have followed the team of their county’s seat, the green and whites of Győr, since about season 1972-73. I’ll be setting off this Thursday night to make a 30th anniversary tour of my first visit to Hungary and Austria. Like in 1987 and many subsequent visits I’ll be catching an ETO game – next Sunday at Csepel with an 18:00 kick off.
    You can most likely see this coming – but if you are game to catch some NB III Nyugat csoport action then I would love to shout you a beer or two at the ground or elsewhere in Budapest. Plus I bet you don’t have many fans/followers from Australia. As fortune would have it Győr wrapped up promotion last weekend with 2 games remaining so (as in 2013) I’ll see their anticlimactic last game of the season. Nonetheless.
    I also hope that MTK can stay up for you. Personally I’d like to see Debrecen go down.
    By the way I have applied the principles of Timmy’s “matrix of truth” in some workplace situations – with due acknowledgement to Timmy Basci.
    Best wishes tonight.
    Yours sincerely,
    Les (Laci)

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    1. Hi Les,

      Thanks for the message and apologies that I never responded or read it sooner. First and foremost, thanks for the kind comments. I have enjoyed writing the blog although for reasons I am not quite sure of. My attachment to MTK and Hungary in general can be a bit of a struggle times. Like much of Europe at the moment, I am not sure Hungarians are living in the prettiest of times from a football and a politics perspective, but we can just smile and get on with it!

      So MTK did go down, but maybe it is for the best. Well now we are winning, which is a positive. I am about eight-ten blog posts behind, but half of them are written I have just not had time to edit and upload, but I hope to get around to it in the next week or two. Making trips to the new MTK stadium is hard to write about 😦

      Anyway, when you are next in Hungary, then please do let me know again (sorry I did not really connect the dots with your Twitter messages and this).

      All the best,

      Tim

      Like

Leave a Reply

