The Pinnacle?

I rode my bike recklessly fast from Kløvermarken where I had just watched CSC vs Helsingør to Parken. I am not sure why.  I just felt like seeing how fast I could go.  As a result of this, I arrived at Parken about 30 minutes before kick-off.  This was the second game of my Two Game Tuesday and I had jumped to the other end of the footballing spectrum to watch FC København against APOEL Nicosia in the final round of qualifying for the Champions League.

I had tried (a little) and failed (fully) to get hold of tickets for the APOEL sector. The Cypriot fans were housed way up in the gods in one corner and were surprisingly quiet.  I remember seeing Wisla Krakow against Omonia Nicosia in the qualifiers for this completion in 2003 and the travelling Cypriots had been almost as equally noisy as the locals.

I  am not going to discuss Parken or FCK anymore. It is what it is and they are what they are.  I had plumbed for Sektion 12 again for no other reason than it offered the cheapest entry at DKK 200 and it would permit me to stand for the entire game without the disapproving tuts of people sitting behind me.

“Hi.  Can you desgin something without soul?”

This was the first time I had ever heard the Champions’ League anthem. It seems strange that they play it whilst we are still ploughing the qualifiers.  It is a song synonymous with the pinnacle of club football.  CSC versus Helsingør seemed far longer than an hour ago.

I think FCK have two and a half outfield players that could do a job in a higher level than the Danish Supaliga. Thomas Delaney is an industrious midfielder with an eye for a goal who could do a job in the lower echelons of the Premier League.  Despite his name, he is a Danish international and club captain of FCK where he has progressed through the ranks.  Ludwig Augustinsson is the left-back who is good on the front foot as well as his more orthodox duties. Augustinsson is a Swedish international who can deliver a mean set piece.  He always looks comfortable at FCK, but whether he has the raw pace to make it significantly higher is a question mark.  My half man is Rasmus Falk who has just joined on a Bosman from Odense. A potentially silky right winger who chips in with a fair share of goals.  A good season with FCK may see him catch the eye of places who can offer him a bigger pond.

 

Oversized ball?

To the game. APOEL set their stall out to defend and pinch one on the break.  They never really threatened to dominate FCK who in turn dominated possession and chances.  The only goal of the game came when a Thomas Delaney through ball found Slovene international, Benjamin Verbič, who waltzed around the in no man’s land goalkeeper to slide in.

On 75 minutes, APOEL had their chance. A cross on the counterattack was met by APOEL forward on his head with FCK’s goalkeeper making what may turn out to be a tie winning save.  Parken urged the team in white forward with cries of “Attack, Attack, Attack”.  I am not sure of the wisdom of this.  The benefit of scoring a second far outweighed the risk of conceding an away goal.  If I were an FCK fan, I would be very happy with a 1-0 home win.  I think that it will be enough.

 

That was my vague attempt to be positive about FCK. However, to UEFA I do say that I do not want to drink Heineken, Pepsi Max or Gatorade.  I do not want to bank with Unicredit and use a Mastercard.  I do not want to be restricted to using gas from Gazprom.  I do not want to drive a Nissan.  Flashing these adverts in my face for the duration of the game makes me angry: it does not make me want to buy.  I just want to watch football.

Previous – Sitting on the grass

Next – Denmark’s Watford

2 thoughts on “The Pinnacle?

Leave a Reply

